Motor Press Guild names five finalists for first-ever Vehicle of the Year Award

(October 4, 2011) LOS ANGELES — Motor Press Guild (MPG), the largest automotive media association in North America, today announced the top five finalists for its first Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year (VOTY) Award.

Finalists were chosen by a panel of 18 MPG journalist members who drive and review new vehicles on a regular basis. All MPG journalist members will evaluate the final five vehicles and vote on the winner at the organization's annual Track Day event Oct. 11-12.

The Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year finalists:

    2012 Audi A7
    2012 Chevrolet Sonic
    2012 Fiat 500
    2012 Ford Focus
    2011 Hyundai Elantra

Eligible vehicles must be all-new or substantially changed for calendar year 2011 and available at dealerships on or before Jan. 1, 2012. In addition, MPG members are encouraged to select vehicles that represent the unique Southern California marketplace.

The winner of the 2011 Motor Press Guild Vehicle of the Year will be announced during the Los Angeles International Auto Show Press Days on Nov. 16-17.

"We're proud of the top five cars nominated by our MPG jury," said Laura Burstein, Motor Press Guild President and VOTY panelist. "Not only are these finalists excellent vehicles overall, they represent a variety of segments and price points — and they show a little So-Cal flair, too. Any of these vehicles would be worthy of the VOTY award."