Subaru recalling 660,000 vehicles in northern states

(July 4, 2014) Subaru of America has announced it is recalling more than 660,000 vehicles because of brake line rust that can result in leaking brake fluid. The Japanese automaker, a unit of Fuji Heavy Industries, said it is recalling the 2005-09 Outback and Legacy, 2008-11 Impreza and 2008-14 Impreza WRX/STI, and 2009-13 Forester sold or registered in “salt belt” states, where heavy road salt is used in the winter.

The states include Michigan, Indiana and Ohio, along with Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia.

Subaru says salt water could splash on the brake lines through a gap in the fuel tank protector, resulting in excessive rust of the brake lines.

The company recalled about 225,000 2005-09 Legacy and Outback vehicles in April 2013 for a similar potential for saltwater corrosion in the brake lines. Subaru said those vehicles are part of the current recall and still need to be rustproofed.